Essay 2 -Development & Research

Our second assignment for this term in Design Context was to write a 2000 words essay. For that essay we had to analyze and compare two things that are relevant with technology and design. One day in the class, Mary (our tutor) ask us to write in a piece of paper an idea that we had to discuss it into the class. The first idea that it came to my mind was a comparison between the Pen and Paper and Digital Pen Tablet…

I liked that specific idea and I stack on it. I began analyze it into my head to think about the differences, the commons and the historical development of those two methods of drawing.

I started to write some random thoughts and words about it in my sketchbook. When I had some ideas for what I was going to write it was time for my research. The best solution to begin the research for me is the Internet, so I started looking on some sites and blogs with kind of the same subject.

You can see some of those sites here:

Then, I looked on some dictionaries to see definitions for each method (such as:  Shorter Oxford Dictionary). I looked some interviews that famous painters and digitals artists had gave to see other peoples opinion about this subject (http://www.itsartmag.com/features/crisdelara/).

After making some more thoughts and keeping some more notes, I made a plan for my essay in a word document. I wrote the specific subject for each paragraph:

INTRODUCTION

 

DRAWING’S HISTORY – TOOLS

WHAT IS DRAWING

 

DIGITAL DRAWING’S HISTORY – TOOLS

WHAT IS DIGITAL DRAWING

 

ADVANTAGES OF DRAWING

DISATDVANTAGES OF DRAWING

 

ADVANTAGES OD DIGITAL DRAWING

DISADVANTAGES OF DIGITAL DRAWING

 

COMPARE-MY OPINION

CONCLUSION

 

After that plan everything was easier for me. I started analyze each paragraph and doing at the same time a little more research for inspiration.

In general those days I tried to see again some movies that I believe that could inspired me, such as: “Exit through the gift shop”, “August rush”, “Beautiful losers”. They are not all of them part of design or my specific subject, but as I had believed those movies helped me a lot. I heard again some quotes from those movies, which really changed my point of viewing.

Finally, I started typing my essay on the same word document that I had typed the subjects for each paragraph. When I had fill in all the paragraphs I wrote sentences between the paragraphs that totally made them totally have a flow.

My final step was to read and read again my essay and change the mistakes that I had done and added and deleted some things.

Leave a Reply

