Typography Assignment-Part 3

As I continue my research for my Kinetic Typography Video I discover new ways of doing it and some fresh ideas.I had a really good brainstorming last days, but finally I decide for many things, such as the font that I will use, the background of my video, the colours of the fontand the final plan for my video.

Here is the story of how my project has developed so far:

Part 1 :

I started looking many videos to totally understood how Kinetic Typography works (as you can see in my first entry for the assignment here).I found a song that I thought that would be nice to make it as a Typography Video.

Part 2:

I decided to change the song that I had chosen. My final decision is to make a video with some of the quotes of my favorite movie called “Into the wild”(2007). (as you can see here)

Part 3: 

As I had decided for the final soundtrack of my video, I started a specific research to the film to see much useful information about:

-The font

a simple, thin and minimal font

-The general style

nature and modern in the same time

-The aesthetics of the movie

minimal

-The quotes that I will use:

“The sea’s only gifts are harsh blows… and occasionally the chance to feel strong

Now I don’t know much about the sea, but I do know that that’s the way it is here

And I also know how important is in life not necessarily to be strong but to feel strong

to measure yourself at least once.

To find yourself at least once in the most ancient of human conditions

Facing the blind death stone alone, with nothing to help you but your hands and your own head” 

After that, I decided what Fonts, Background, Colours and Movement/ Main Idea  I will use in my video:

Font

I will use the typeface called “华文黑体(Chinese blackbody)” because it is qualified; it is minimal, thin and nice.

Background

For the background colour I will use a light colour because I want to create a sense of nature such as beige and probably will be a fine sacking material texture. This texture seems natural because it has scratches and it’s grunge; and that’s what I want.

Colours

The colour font it will be a combination of black and white because I want some simple and common colours.

Movement/ Main Idea

Firstly, the main video typography will be based on the title of the film.

My first idea: was to put small pieces of wood that construct the phrase  “INTO THE WILD”.

“On the small wooden pieces, social messages such as words and meanings will be curved on the title. Those phrases are deeper meanings which the protagonist has been discovering all through out the film wanting to share them with the audience. Therefore he chose to curved them on a wooden platform. “

But I made some graphics in Adobe Illustrator CS5 to see how it seems and I didn’t like it.

So I decided to put the letters in a specific position that finally, when the camera zoom out, will appear the title of the movie “INTO THE WILD” .

Something like this:

To be continued…

One thought on “Typography Assignment-Part 3

  1. Pingback: Typography Assignment – Part 4 « Andreas Lampropoulos

Leave a Reply

